

CONTACT Scott Johnson Executive Secretary Iowa FFA Association scott.johnson@iowaffa.com 515-965-7376

## News Release

## 2016 IOWA FFA AG BROADCASTING CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT

88th Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

AMES, IA - The Iowa FFA Ag Broadcasting Leadership Event was held at Iowa State University, Ames, on Monday, April 18, 2016. Twelve individuals participated in this year's Career Development Event (CDE). The first place individual for the event was Marissa Vos from the Lynnville-Sully FFA Chapter at Sully. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Brian Lowry. The second place individual for the event was Paetyn Rock from the Brokaw FFA Chapter at Clarinda. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Andrew Johnson.

Members participating in this event present a five-minute broadcast as if they were a farm director or reporter for a radio station. This event is intended to foster an understanding and create an interest in the field of broadcast journalism. The Iowa FFA Ag Broadcasting CDE was made possible with support from the Iowa Broadcaster's Association Foundation through the Iowa FFA Foundation.

The results from the Ag Broadcasting CDE are listed below.

###

About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 14,800 student members as part of 226 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agricultural The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.

Place FFA Member Name(s)		Chapter P. O.	Rating
1	Marissa Vos	Sully	Gold
2	Paetyn Rock	Clarinda	Gold
3	Emily Martins	Fairbank	Gold
	Dayton Brugman	Everly	Gold
	Hunter Britton	Muscatine	Gold
	Morgan Smith	Stuart	Gold
	Morgan Nichols	West Liberty	Gold

## Iowa FFA Association -- 2

Gilbert	Silver
Griswold	Silver
Inwood	Silver
Latimer	Silver
West Union	Silver
	Griswold Inwood Latimer